At the annual INSARAG Steering Group Meeting (ISG) in 2017, the group directed the Secretariat to initiate the establishment of the INSARAG Kobo Working Group (KWG) with clear terms of reference and to request INSARAG regional groups to nominate suitable members. Following the call for nomination, the KWG was established with the following composition below:

 

Chair of KoBo WG, Mr. Peter Wolf

 Name  Country Organisation  Region   Position   Email
Peter Wolf USAR THW Germany AEME Chair peter.wolff@evonik.com
Robert Norman UK ISAR United Kingdom AEME Member rnormal@hotmail.com
Martijn Boer HQ USAR.NL The Netherlands AEME Member Martijn.Boer@ifv.nl
Chew Keng Tok DART Unit Singapore Singapore Asia - Pacific Member chew_keng_tok@scdf.gov.sg
Jeff Maunder Fire and Emergency NZ New Zealand Asia - Pacific Member Jeff.Maunder@fire.org.nz
Solveig Thorvaldsdottir Rainrace Consultancy Iceland AEME Member solveig@rainrace.com
John Morrison USA -1 United States Americas Member john.morrison@fairfaxcounty.gov
Luigi Bruno OCHA  OCHA OCHA Member brunol@un.org
Rosli Shaari  Special Malaysia disasters and Rescue Team Malaysia Asia - Pacific Member rosli7465@gmail.com
Makola Lazarus USAR SA Operational Focal Point South Africa  AEME Member tshepomak@joburg.org.za
Eliot Aidan Robert Fire & Emergency New Zealand New Zealand Asia - Pacific Technical Consultant Aidan.Elliot@fireandemergency.nz
Anwar Mahfoudh OCHA  OCHA OCHA Technical Consultant mahfoudh@un.org
         
Technical Consultant from MapAction        

IMG_2662.JPG

The larger group would facilitate effective taskings and coverage in the operational implementation phase of KoBo in actual disaster response. The KWG’s primary objective as stated in the ToRs will oversee the ongoing implementation and operationalisation of the KoBo Toolbox in trainings and in actual field operations. The KWG will develop jointly with OCHA and Technical Partners, a manual that includes guidance for Information Management, at USAR team management and UCC levels, and activation protocols for actual disaster response. Furthermore, the KWG will also develop the 5 criteria for the IEC/R checklist 2018.

The first KWG WEBEX Meeting was held last 29 June 2017 CEST and was fully attended by all the members of the working group